Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Could not reach 60 fps after setting exposure time

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    4

    Could not reach 60 fps after setting exposure time

    Hi there, we are testing DMK 27AUR0135 at 1280x960 (both Y16 and Y800) through USB3.0 under Windows 8.
    1. IC Capture shows it works at 30 fps even we adjust exposure time to 1/60 seconds.
    2. Our own OpenCV based software can also only reach 30 fps after settings (1) CV_CAP_PROP_FRAME_WIDTH to 1280, (2) CV_CAP_PROP_FRAME_HEIGHT to 960, (3) CV_CAP_PROP_AUTO_EXPOSURE to false, (4) CV_CAP_PROP_EXPOSURE to -9 (1/2^9 seconds) .
    3. The same laptop can reach 45 fps with other sensors and expensive image processing at the same resolution, so the bandwidth should be enough.
    One weird thing is: we use one thread to capture video, the other thread to display video; when we click on the display window and release the mouse, we sometimes can see fps changes to around 60, even 70, then back to 30.
    Could you suggest what we should try to reach 60 fps?
    Regards, Veuron

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    4,893

    Re: Could not reach 60 fps after setting exposure time

    Hello

    If the camera is connected to an USB 3.0 controller, IC Capture should offer (1280x960) @ 60.60606. If IC Capture offers less than that, the camera thinks, it is connected to an USB 2.0 controller.

    Also keep in mind, the image data is sent uncompressed, therefore the camera needs a lot of bandwidth.

    Which laptop model do you use?
    Best regards
    Stefan
    IC Imaging Control Support

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    4

    Re: Could not reach 60 fps after setting exposure time

    Hi Stefan,

    Thanks for your quick reply.

    The camera is connected to blue USB 3.0 controller; IC Capture does not offer (1280x960) @ 60.60606 whatever Y800 or Y16.

    Attached please find the screenshot of IC Capture, laptop system(Toshiba Satellite) and task manager.
    ic_capture_1280x960_30fps_and_system_and_task_manager.png

    FYI, we are able to run another product based on AR0130 (1280x960) @ 45 with expensive image processing on the same laptop.
    So, would you think IC Capture should at least offer (1280x960) @ 45 or IC Capture only offers 12.24, 15, 20, 25, 30, 60 fps?

    We are thinking at least IC Capture should be able to run at 60 fps before we check whether there is something wrong in our own OpenCV based software.

    Please let us know if you think of any other possibility.

    Regards,

    Veuron
    Last edited by veuron; March 21, 2018 at 11:45:36.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    4,893

    Re: Could not reach 60 fps after setting exposure time

    Hello
    he camera is connected to blue USB 3.0 controller; IC Capture does not offer (1280x960) @ 60.60606 whatever Y800 or Y16.
    In this case, the camera is *not* connected to an USB 3.0 controller or the USB 3.0 cable is defective.
    Best regards
    Stefan
    IC Imaging Control Support

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    4

    Re: Could not reach 60 fps after setting exposure time

    Hi Stefan,

    The camera and USB 3.0 cable are just delivered to us for testing from ImagingSource sales agent a couple of days ago.
    The device manager also shows USB 3.0 controller. Actually, we tested all 3 USB interfaces in the laptop although we are pretty sure which one is USB 3.0.
    usb_3.0_cable_and_controller.jpg

    We will test on other computer and also other USB 3.0 cable.

    Just want to confirm one thing: (1280x960)@60 should *ALWAYS* pop up as an option in IC Capture 2.4 (32bit) as long as the camera is connected to USB 3.0 whatever the computer can handle that bandwidth or not, is that right?

    Regards,

    Veuron
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    4

    Re: Could not reach 60 fps after setting exposure time

    Hi Stefan,

    We mange to see the 60 fps option and are able to run at 60 fps on the laptop.
    Nothing wrong with USB 3.0 controller in our laptop and USB 3.0 cable from your sale agent.

    There should be something weird in IC Capture or camera board firmware (we assume there are some codes in the camera board).

    The way 60 fps appears is as follows (which may be helpful for you and other customers):
    Connect camera to computer A with USB 3.0 cable C, install driver, run IC Capture, 60 fps does not appear.
    Connect camera to computer B with USB 3.0 cable C, install driver, run IC Capture, 60 fps does not appear; change to another USB 3.0 cable D, 60 fps still does not appear.
    Connect camera back to computer A with USB 3.0 cable C, fps higher than 30 including 60 pop up.

    Regards,

    Veuron

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    4,893

    Re: Could not reach 60 fps after setting exposure time

    Veuron

    that is completely weird. I never had this before. And if the camera is unpowered, its settings are reset. (except name and ip settings.)
    Best regards
    Stefan
    IC Imaging Control Support

Similar Threads

  1. DFK23U618 can not reach 120 fps
    By April12 in forum Hardware and Driver
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 8, 2015, 11:36:18
  2. Dumb question re DBK41 exposure setting vs resulting video??
    By bwallan in forum Astronomy Cameras Support Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 10, 2010, 18:54:43
  3. Commands to allow setting Exposure
    By meltemii in forum IC Imaging Control ActiveX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 27, 2007, 08:29:02
  4. RE: exposure time
    By Unregistered in forum IC Imaging Control C++ Class Library
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 27, 2004, 13:02:32
  5. exposure time
    By Unregistered in forum IC Imaging Control C++ Class Library
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 23, 2004, 08:55:32

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •