Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: IC Capture Gamma Settings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Peoria, Arizona
    Posts
    1

    IC Capture Gamma Settings

    I'm fairly new at planetary imaging and I'm still experimenting with different capture settings. I'm using a DMK USB camera with luminance filter for most of my imaging. While capturing Jupiter over the last month or so I've had the best luck with the gamma set around 35. I've read in several forums that a gamma of 0 or "off" is best, and on the Imaging Source forum I read where a setting of 100 is best. In my version of IC Capture, when I move the slider all the way to the left (setting = 0 I'm assuming), I get a pure white disc of Jupiter, so I'm sure that's not what people are using when they say set gamma to 0. When I set gamma above about 50 I get a lot of onion ringing. Can anyone shed some light on IC capture gamma settings with the lates version?

    Thanks, Gene

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    42

    Re: IC Capture Gamma Settings

    Hi, For USB to get a linear response set gamma to 100. For firewire set to 10 for linear. As you have USB, therefore set to 100. If you put gamma into the search on here you will find a number of posts refering to this. I have my USB DBK set to 100 without problems. You may just need to slightly change your post capture processing settings. Hope this helps. Freddie

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: IC Capture Gamma Settings

    I have just spent two hours trying to get a good image of the sun (using a Baader White light filter only) and cannot get any image of the sunspot on my monitor. Since this was my very first try, I did not change gamma and I think it was set to 1. (USB2.0). Would you think that it why I have no sunspot image? No contrast?
    Is the "100" setting for gamma still good for this setup?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Bremen, Germany
    Posts
    4,893

    Re: IC Capture Gamma Settings

    Hello

    Gamma is some mathematic, like spreading the histogram, on the image. That means, you may loose information if you use gamma. 100 is the default value if I remember correctly.
    Best regards
    Stefan
    IC Imaging Control Support

Similar Threads

  1. IC Capture 2.1 AVI Capture problems
    By Stefan Geissler in forum Astronomy Cameras Support Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 1, 2011, 14:58:55
  2. ic capture frame rate question
    By BabaG in forum Astronomy Cameras Support Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 11, 2010, 18:06:30
  3. IC Capture.AS 2.0.1.483 gamma settings
    By Sean McDaniel in forum Astronomy Cameras Support Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 12, 2007, 11:25:51
  4. Exposure/fps settings in IC Capture.
    By Gasman in forum Astronomy Cameras Support Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 24, 2007, 23:14:21
  5. Load settings for camera from file not possible
    By khkigu in forum IC Imaging Control ActiveX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 26, 2005, 08:56:08

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •