PDA

View Full Version : Error running Sample Application



Unregistered
December 11, 2001, 13:34:30
Hello,

I am trying to run the Firewire-Camera Sony TRV30E using
the Firewire PCI card Exsys-6500.

I have serious troubles running the two sample applications
of your IC1.0 on my Win2000-System.

When I start the C++-Sample Application I get the nag dialog
and the GUI. After choosing 'Settings' from the Menu, I receive
an following error window:

An unexpteced DShowLibException occured: CVideoCaptureDevice::getCrossbar() allocating crossbar failed,
because filter was not found.
In file D:\Show src\DShowLib\VideoCaptureDevice.cpp at line:384


Starting the VB-Sample Application I receive the same message
after choosing in the ComboBox 'Videosource' my Firewire-Camera.


With other SDKs, I faced the problem that they require
interface-cards which offer a diagnostic mode in the settings.
This is not the case for the Exsys-6500.

Might this be the problem also with your Control?


This message was originally posted by Thomas Schlögl in the old IC Imaging Control Support Forum.

Unregistered
December 11, 2001, 21:12:19
Diagnostic mode is something left over from when firewire was
new for Windows 98 for 1394 boards. At this time, not
all 1394 boards were OHCI compliant.

I suggest trying a different 1394 board. They only cost $59 US
now.

Besides, if your card requires diagnostic mode to work properly,
then you are out of luck, because there is no "Diagnostic Mode"
for Win2000 or WinXP. By this time, all cards were OHCI
compliant and the OS new how to properly handle 1394.

Good Luck,

Guthrie


This message was originally posted by Guthrie Cooper in the old IC Imaging Control Support Forum.

Unregistered
January 20, 2002, 23:16:54
I get the same error mentioned earlier. I was wondering if the new card was the solution, or if a solution had been found? I have the same error, yet have what all the documentation says is an OHCI compliant card. I have a new Sony Handicam/Windows 2k adv server/vb6/directx8 . Any advice would be appreciated!


This message was originally posted by Matt Cookman in the old IC Imaging Control Support Forum.

Unregistered
January 21, 2002, 06:21:32
The solution was a new card! I did not process any live image
with the Exsys-6500. I gave it up after some time...


This message was originally posted by Thomas Schlögl in the old IC Imaging Control Support Forum.

Unregistered
January 21, 2002, 22:03:49
Thanks for the quick response. I have tried the control now on a brand new Sony i.Link connection on Windows XP Pro, and have the EXACT same error. Does anyone know how to fix this error?

My Equiptment: Sony camera with DV output, and Sony laptop w/ built in iLink, and Windows XP Pro.


This message was originally posted by Matt Cookman in the old IC Imaging Control Support Forum.

Unregistered
January 22, 2002, 11:09:24
Same error here running XP pro and the Pinnacle Studio DV board.
This board runs fine with the Pinnacle Video editing program and also MS MovieMaker - although the DV board was bought about a year ago.


This message was originally posted by Mike Alport in the old IC Imaging Control Support Forum.

Unregistered
February 26, 2002, 16:46:44
Hi Matt,

The search for the error/incompatibility (whatever!) was definitely to
time-consuming and I gave it up!

Now, I use the video-for-windows stuff with all those Video Capture Macros
(see Microsofts VC++ documentation) and the
Video Compression Functions (IC) for getting decoded image data from
my Sony camcorder.

By the way,
http://www.sys.uea.ac.uk/~fuzz/vfm/default.html
contains nice source code for image capturing in C. If you do not need
the Matlab-stuff just use the core functions within the mex-functions.

It works fine under all Microsoft operating systems (>Win98) and seems to
be a real general solution for a lot of cameras.

Good luck

Thomas


This message was originally posted by Thomas Schloegl in the old IC Imaging Control Support Forum.