PDA

View Full Version : Get Exposure steps in range



mauro.anjo
July 13, 2017, 15:05:01
We work with a lot of camera models and have a generic system to handle camera parameters, one of them is the exposure value.
Is there any way to get in exposure range the steps to use in a slider?

With tIVCDAbsoluteValuePropertyPtr we get min and max, but how to achieve the same behaviour as in camera properties window exposure slider?

Testing cameras in IC Capture we notice that some values (using keyboard arrows) do not change the exposure, it seems the hardware has some valid values along the range.

Regards

Stefan Geissler
July 28, 2017, 10:01:40
We work with a lot of camera models and have a generic system to handle camera parameters, one of them is the exposure value.
Is there any way to get in exposure range the steps to use in a slider?

With tIVCDAbsoluteValuePropertyPtr we get min and max, but how to achieve the same behaviour as in camera properties window exposure slider?

Testing cameras in IC Capture we notice that some values (using keyboard arrows) do not change the exposure, it seems the hardware has some valid values along the range.

Regards

Usually you create an array of double values and use the slider's value to reference the values in the array. In this array you can save the more interesting values, which usually are lower than 1.0 and some of the higher ones.

mauro.anjo
July 28, 2017, 13:30:00
Yeap that's what we want to do, but how to retrieve all valid double exposure values from camera? (since it appers to be a finite set of values) Is it even possible?

Regards

Stefan Geissler
July 28, 2017, 13:46:04
Yeap that's what we want to do, but how to retrieve all valid double exposure values from camera? (since it appers to be a finite set of values) Is it even possible?

Regards

You only get a range from the camera, from minimum value to maximum value. When setting a double value within this range, then the value will be transformed in a value the sensor can handle.
You do not need to care about whether the values in the list are valid or not. They must withing the range only.