PDA

View Full Version : Celestron Skyris 236C - No Image

glenc2004
May 29, 2016, 20:27:46
Hello everyone. I just recently purchased a Celestron Skyris 236C and I just recently tried some imaging and it seems it's not working as I expected. This is my 1st time every using an imaging camera and I'm curious if what I'm seeing is common. I would expect to see at least some image coming from the camera even though it's not dark, etc. But all I see is either completely dark image are bright depending on what it's pointing at. I tried various things such as frame rate changes, image size change, different USB ports and even different computers with both Windows 7 and Windows 10. I also updated the driver but have found no new firmware. I'm not sure what else to try as I'm really new to this type of imaging. I do have a USB 3.0 in my primary laptop I'm using for the imaging and I know it's supported on this device. Just really not sure what I should be expecting from the output. I do have a support case open with Celestron but I figured I'd find someone in the forums that could maybe help a newbie!

Here is what I saw with my 1st try....

Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated. I'm expected about the process! Just need a little assistance in getting there.

Thanks!

Glen

Stefan Geissler
May 30, 2016, 09:17:01
Hello

IC Capture (or iCap) shows the achieved frame rate in the title bar of its window. Does it show something like "[nn fps]"? I suppose yes, since you were able to save an image.

Please try a 1/30 second exposure time.
Use the camera without your telescope. You should receive a bright white image.

Did you ask the Celestron support for help?

glenc2004
May 30, 2016, 18:03:14
Hi Stefan,