PDA

View Full Version : How to set camera sensitivity?



yan_zhao_ep
August 14, 2014, 22:26:21
Hi,

I have a DFK 23UP031 camera and under the chart here (http://www.theimagingsource.com/en_US/products/cameras/usb-cmos-ccd-color/dfk23up031/) it says "Set resolution, format, FPS and sensitivity with shipped software."



Thanks,


Yan

yan_zhao_ep
August 14, 2014, 22:50:22
Oh, Binning?

Stefan Geissler
August 15, 2014, 08:59:27
Sensitivity includes gain, exposure and so on. At least all possible camera properties.

yan_zhao_ep
August 15, 2014, 22:17:57
Sorry but I don't understand. The unit of sensitivity is V/lux-sec, how come exposure or gain has anything to do with it?

Yes, the more exposure time the brighter the image, but it shouldn't mean the sensor becomes more sensitive when the exposure is longer...

Stefan Geissler
August 18, 2014, 10:04:13
You are right, gain is an electronically amplifier.


Yes, the more exposure time the brighter the image, but it shouldn't mean the sensor becomes more sensitive when the exposure is longer...


Ah, I see your point. If you understand this in this way, then of course the sensitivity can not be changed. Our understanding is a little bit different.