PDA

View Full Version : Saving images externally triggered with Labview and without NI-IMAQ.

eldiegoefe
November 15, 2013, 05:01:04
Hello! I've been searching the forum for examples on using triggered images on Labview. I am able to trigger the imaging but now I don't know how to save to file the images I get on the screen (Im new at using many things in Labview including ActiveX, event callback VIs, etc). I've seen the ImageAvailable example but I don't have IMAQ so I cannot run it. Is it possible to get a running example without IMAQ of how to achieve this?

More information on my problem:

Camera: DMK23GP031
Language: Labview 2013 (and spanish!!)
Goal: save to disk monochrome images as fast as possible, triggered by an external TTL pulse. We need to take pictures of events the closest possible to 1 KHz (1 frame per millisecond).
Question 1: which is the minimum time between trigger pulses that can be achieved?
Question 2: can I get faster imaging using a small Region of Interest inside the frame? I ask because from IC Capture I see th

at at 640x480 the maximum fps is 132.42 but this fps can be raised using smaller ROI.

Thanks in advance for your response.

Stefan Geissler
November 15, 2013, 10:08:02
If you want to save images only, then you can change the ImageAvailalable event:
remove all the IMAQ things from it.
Use the "ImageBuffer.SaveAsJpeg" on the ICImagingControl.ImageActiveBuffer instead. Then you are done.

Pleas refer to:

SaveAsJpeg
http://www.imagingcontrol.com/en_US/support/documentation/activex/meth_descImageBuffer_SaveAsJpeg.htm

ImageActiveBuffer
http://www.imagingcontrol.com/en_US/support/documentation/activex/prop_descICImagingControl_ImageActiveBuffer.htm