PDA

View Full Version : DMK 23GV024 installation



Alexander
September 1, 2013, 13:42:41
Hi
I'm having trouble with connecting the camera - DMK 23GV024.
I set the IP address of 169.254.0.1 Mask 255.255.0.0, but the computer detects an "undefined network" and "No Network access".
I applied 12V to pins 1 (+) and 6(GND)

Stefan Geissler
September 2, 2013, 09:39:26
Alexander,

this link local IP address of the camera is normal, if the camera runs on DHCP and there is no DHCP server availalbe, that provides a matching IP address for the camera. I suppose, the camera is connected directly to your computer and your network adapter has a fixed IP address. If so:
The fixed IP addresses should be:
Networkadapter:
192.168.1.1 : 255.255.255.0
Camera:
192.168.1.2 : 255.255.255.0

In case, the computer and camera run in a network with a DHCP server and the camera is connected to a switch, then following can happen: Switch on power of computer, switch and camera. The camera boots faster than the switch and therefore, no DHCP server is found. Then the camera uses the link local IP address. In this situation use either fixed IP addresses or dis- and reconnect the camera.

Background information quoted from RFC 5725

169.254.0.0/16 - This is the "link local" block. As described in
[RFC3927], it is allocated for communication between hosts on a
single link. Hosts obtain these addresses by auto-configuration,
such as when a DHCP server cannot be found.

http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc5735

Alexander
September 2, 2013, 10:31:28
Stefan!
I was able to join the camera only on Intel Atom N450 Win XP Embedded Ser. Pack 3
On IPconfig.ehe I see my camera - DMK 23GV024, but when I click on this raw there is a warning on the left. When I do a Disable/Enable camera reappears in IPconfig.exe.
IC Capture does not see the camera
I checked DirectX, it is Version 9.0

Stefan Geissler
September 2, 2013, 11:06:42
If there is a warning, then the camera is not configured correctly to your computer's network. You can pass a temporarily fixed (persistent) IP address to the camera and if this is working, you can pass the correct IP address to the camera in a second step.

In case, this does not work, I must know, how your network is configured. Is there a switch? what are the IP addresses of the network controller? Are all devices GigE devices. Without this, I would continue guessing around.

Alexander
September 2, 2013, 12:20:15
Thank you Stefan,

All is OK!