PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question



dpatt70
May 17, 2013, 16:11:47
Hello Everyone
I just received my DMK 41AU02.AS mono and attempted to image Saturn last night. I found that I could only adjust the exposure level, all other tool bar options were disabled. I'm wondering how to enable the gain, gamma etc. on the tool bars? I'm using IC capture AS 2.2.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Drew Patterson

Stefan Geissler
May 17, 2013, 17:42:04
Hello Dew

IC Capture was written to support a wide amount of camera models. Different camera models have different properties. For example, a monochrome camera does not need white balance. Therefore, the white balance controls are disabled.

However, gamma and gain should work. Please click the "Device" menu and select "Properties". Now a dialog pops up and shows all available properties of the camera.

The supported properties of the camera are

DMx 41AU02.AS
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Property Type Minimum Maximum Default
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Exposure
Value Absolute Value 0,0001 3600 0,0333
Value Range -13 11 -4
Auto Switch
AutoReference Range 0 255 128
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Gain
Value Range 260 1023 260
Auto Switch
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Gamma
Value Range 1 500 100
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Brightness
Value Range 0 63 0
-------------------------------------------------------------------


Video format Norm Frame rates
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Y800 (1280x960) 15.00002 7.500002 3.750001 3.750001


Please check, whether gamma and gain are not available on this dialog too. Unfortunately I will be back on next Tuesday, so if you answer, I will see it then there. We have a holiday on next Monday in Germany.

dpatt70
May 17, 2013, 18:31:30
Hello Dew

IC Capture was written to support a wide amount of camera models. Different camera models have different properties. For example, a monochrome camera does not need white balance. Therefore, the white balance controls are disabled.

However, gamma and gain should work. Please click the "Device" menu and select "Properties". Now a dialog pops up and shows all available properties of the camera.

The supported properties of the camera are

DMx 41AU02.AS
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Property Type Minimum Maximum Default
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Exposure
Value Absolute Value 0,0001 3600 0,0333
Value Range -13 11 -4
Auto Switch
AutoReference Range 0 255 128
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Gain
Value Range 260 1023 260
Auto Switch
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Gamma
Value Range 1 500 100
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Brightness
Value Range 0 63 0
-------------------------------------------------------------------


Video format Norm Frame rates
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Y800 (1280x960) 15.00002 7.500002 3.750001 3.750001


Please check, whether gamma and gain are not available on this dialog too. Unfortunately I will be back on next Tuesday, so if you answer, I will see it then there. We have a holiday on next Monday in Germany.

Hi Stefan,
Thanks for the quick response.
I selected "Device" then Properties but all i show is "exposure", Auto reference" and "Auto Max Value". I'm also not showing the "image" tab between the "exposure" tab and "special" tab as per the help index.
Have a great long weekend.
Thanks
Drew

Stefan Geissler
May 21, 2013, 11:45:13
Dear Drew

Which Windows version do you use?
Which driver version do you use?
Which IC Capture version do you use?
Which computer model do you use?
If there is a webcam or webcam software installed, which is it? There is one, which causes many problems: The Creative Labs Livecam.

You may wish to update to currrent driver and IC Capture version. Current drivers and software are available on http://www.theimagingsource.com/en_US/support/downloads/

What is shown in "Special" tab?

dpatt70
May 23, 2013, 03:00:06
Hi Stefan,
I'm using Windows Vista (i know i know...)
I'm using the latest driver that i downloaded from the imaging source website IC WDM UVCCAM TIS as well as IC capture 2.2.342.1337.
My computer is an ACER Dual CPU T3200 32 -bit Operating system with 2 gig of RAM
I don't have any webcam software installed on the laptop.
Hope that helps.
I've uninstalled IC that was loaded with the CD and reinstalled both the driver and IC from the imaging source website with no change in options.
The "special" tab displays
Trigger (with and option to enable)
A greyed out box for Software Trigger
Then another option to select polarity.
The bottom tabs display update, default and okay.
Thanks for the continued support
Drew

Stefan Geissler
May 23, 2013, 09:12:16
I'm using Windows Vista (i know i know...)
No issue with Windows Vista. In my opinion, it was not bad.

So, the situation is, you do not have gain in the property dialog. Last step: Delete the camera from Windows Device Manager, disconnect and reconnect, install driver again and see what happens. If this does not help, generate a support request at http://www.imagingcontrol.com/en_US/support/case/ (you can write fantasy texts in the fields, you do not know what to choose). Then we can setup a TeamViewer session if you want and I can have a look on my own.

dpatt70
May 27, 2013, 17:00:11
I have now generated a support request using the link provided.
Looking forward to a resolution
Thanks
Drew

Stefan Geissler
May 27, 2013, 17:02:12
Dew, what you do not know, simply ignore or write nonsense into it. :-)

dpatt70
May 27, 2013, 17:27:33
yeah, i figured that out after i posted the reply.
Sorry
Drew