PDA

View Full Version : startLive failed



krlier
February 19, 2013, 09:57:19
Hi,

I've developed a program in C# to use a DVG/SV1 grabber card to show live video using VS2010.

Sometimes when I run the application, the method LiveStart() will throw an exception.
Below is the exception information:
Unknown error occurred
Base Library Error : An unexpected DShowLibException occured: Error = startLive failed.
VideoCaptureDevice = DFG/SV1
VideoFormat = UYVY (640x480)
In file : ".\GrabberPImpl.cpp" at line : 592

Below is how I set up the icImagingControl.

icImagingControl1.Device = icImagingControl1.Devices[0];
icImagingControl1.InputChannel = icImagingControl1.InputChannels[1];
icImagingControl1.VideoNorm = icImagingControl1.VideoNorms[2];
icImagingControl1.VideoFormat = icImagingControl1.VideoFormats[14];

try
{
icImagingControl1.LiveStart();
}
catch (Exception ex)
{
//error..
}

Any ideas what I could be doing wrong? Is it possible do get some indication from the exception?

-Kristian

Stefan Geissler
February 19, 2013, 11:28:31
Hi Kristian,


the only situation I can imagine for the fail is the DFG/SV1 being in use. That means, the was not stopped previously.

Which windows version do you use?

Do you have any more information about the situation, when this happens?

krlier
February 19, 2013, 12:18:12
Thanks, for the quick reply.

That may well be the case. It usually happens during debugging, and restarting Visual Studio helps most of the time. The other times, I haven't received enough information, but there is a possibility the program has started for multiple users in Windows (program runs on startup), which would support your suggestion.

I'm running Windows 7, 64 bit.

Is there a way to detect if the DFG/SV1 device is already in use or available?

-Kristian

Stefan Geissler
February 19, 2013, 16:12:17
Hi


Is there a way to detect if the DFG/SV1 device is already in use or available?

Yes, you found it already :-) If startlive() fails , then something similar must have happen. However, there is no direct method for checking, whether a device is streaming already.

ivarex
February 19, 2013, 16:51:30
Hi,
I would like to know how can I implement functions for setting the properties automatically?
I mean, to change the zoom, gain, iris and so on, not using the dialog properties but
using the keyboard.

Stefan Geissler
February 19, 2013, 17:00:59
A good starting point is
http://www.imagingcontrol.com/en_US/support/documentation/dotnet/tech_VCDProperties.htm

krlier
February 20, 2013, 07:57:03
Indeed I did :)

Thanks for your help!