PDA

View Full Version : Problems imaging using a Coronado PST and Imaging Source DFK 21AU04.AS USB CCD color

Ed Hahnenberg
November 22, 2012, 20:58:56
I am new to imaging the sun using a Coronado PST with an Imaging Source DFK 21AU04.AS USB CCD color camera. My problems are twofold: First, I can't seem to get to focus by inserting the camera into the eyepiece holder of the PST. It would seem that I would have to get the camera closer, but cannot. Secondly, I get a ripple effect going live. How does one get rid of that. I have spent a few months imaging with a C1400 scope, Hyperstar lens, and Starlight Xpress M25C camera, but now I would like to do some planetary, lunar, and solar imaging with the PST and the DFK 21 camera. (You can see some of my prior work at www.hahnenberg.org.) My current attention is getting focus on the sun and solving the ripple effect. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks. You can also contact me at ejjhpiano@gmail.com.

Stefan Geissler
November 23, 2012, 09:36:06
Hi

First of all, I am not an astronomer, so I am lacking of telescope knowledge. Please accept my apologize for this.

The cameras a calibrated on C/CS mount, which is 17,5mm/12,5mm distance between sensor and lens. This is a norm. In case, it is not possible to focus, then there might is a problem with the telescope, so its plane of sharpness is not C or CS mount. Therefore, I would like you to ask your telescope service too.

The lens holder of the camera is a ring mounted in the housing. It is fixed by glue and two grub screws (or set screws, I am not sure for the correct translation of german "Madenschraube") on the sides of the black front frame. You may, on your own risc, loose this lens holding ring and calibrate it to your telescope. This has two issues:
- the grub scews drilled little hole in the ring, therefore, if you fix them again, the ring may switches back into the old position.
- the optical axis can be out of alignment