View Full Version : Performance Questions

August 4, 2011, 03:49:16
I am developing a windows service to take pictures of my companies product as it is leaving the assembly line. We have several different usb2.0 cameras some 5mp and some 1024x768 at different points in the plant. Some areas uses multiple cameras to trigger images of each side of the product and at other areas there is just one camera being triggered. The software is working and photos are being saved, but we are seeing a very big difference in the time it takes for the pictures to be taken. In some cases it takes a second or two and in others it can take 40 seconds plus. As it is important for our quality process to have these photos a 40 second delay makes it tough to keep production on target. I am hoping that someone can give me some pointers on ways to speed this process up. Probabbly isn't the best code and I'm still learning... so go easy ;) but any assistance is greatly appreciated!

Thank you

' Example code to create a simple list of cameras
Dim cameras As New List(Of ICImagingControls)

Dim cam1 As New ICImagingControl(My.Settings.Key)
cam1.Device = My.Settings.Cam1DeviceName

Dim cam2 As New ICImagingControl(My.Settings.Key)
cam2.Device = My.Settings.Cam2DeviceName

' And heres a rough look at the code I'm using to loop through cameras and take photos
For Each cam As ICImagingControl In cameras
'code would go here to set filename
filename = "C:\test\" cam.Device + "-" + Now.ToString("yyyyMMddHHmmssfff") + ".jpg"
cam.ImageActiveBuffer.SaveAsJpeg(filename, 100)

Tim Cassens
August 4, 2011, 09:02:42

Are you able to debug it or add timers and debug output to find out which operation takes so long?

Could you also try to find out whether the cameras work on the computer in question when you use IC Capture? Please check whether the frame rate is stable and as high as the camera is configured.

Best regards
Tim Cassens

August 4, 2011, 13:13:07