PDA

View Full Version : Gain settings

darbyvet
April 4, 2011, 19:11:36
Hi
I have a question for planetary imagers.
I have a celestron 8SE and a DFK 21aus camera and a Televue 2.5 powermate image amplifier.
I am a beginner planetary imager
I was imaging Saturn last week.I had an exposure setting of 1/23s and I left the gain setting on auto.I got some nice pics with good color, but I couldnt get good detail on the bands on the planet.Seeing was poor though.

I tried again this week and this time I played with the gain setting.I reduced the gain setting to 500 and increased the exposure time to 1/5 sec.Again I got some fairly good images, but Saturn was reddish pink instead of being a nice yellow.Seeing was poor and there were some thin high clouds

So my questions are;
1. Do you normally try to adjust the gain setting on the DFK camera to get better detail? It seems to me that decreasing gain did not help -Maybe because seeing was poor?
I have read that decreasing gain can help with improving fine detail on planetary imaging.

2. Why was Saturn a different color.Was it due to the high clouds or the reduced gain?

I imaged using Y800 codec and used registax5 with debayering so stack and process the images.

I am trying to get a web page set up so I can upload the images.

darbyvet
April 4, 2011, 19:32:47
http://www.senecafallsvet.com/site/view/194286_astropics.pml

this was the image with 1/23 exposure and gain left on auto

darbyvet
April 5, 2011, 02:37:06
1/23s exposure gain setting auto.poor seeing.

darbyvet
April 5, 2011, 02:40:35
gain reduced to 500.exposure 1/5 sec.again seeing poor (probably a little worse than the other image taken a few days earlier).Very fine high clouds.Anyone know why the color is so different

Stefan Geissler
April 5, 2011, 08:22:12
The colors are different, because you run the camera on auto white balance. You should set the white balance manual to appropriate values.

darbyvet
April 5, 2011, 14:56:37
Thanks Stephan,