View Full Version : Reg:IEEE 1394A Express Card

March 16, 2011, 10:23:35

I am using IEEE 1394A 34mm Express Card in my laptop for connect camera through firewire cable but camera is not detecting.

is there anything i have to add/install for the camera live view.


Stefan Geissler
March 16, 2011, 12:38:10
First of all, please make sure, you have an external power supply (12V, 500mA) for your camera, otherwise the camera is not powered.

Also we found a laptop model, that does not work with the PCIe FireWire boards. Please understand, that we are not allowed to say the model's name in public.

March 23, 2011, 18:55:20
I am in France (excuse my bad translat).

I have a problem with my 41 DMK Firewire. I connect the DMK on my new PC with a PCMCIA Express Card 1394A.
It is identical to this one:

I installed your latest drivers and IC 2.2.

The bottom of the image jumps => I have only 12 or 13 fps and when I Rule 7.5 fps, the movie freezes ± quickly (sometimes not ! ).

My PC is Windows 7 / 32 Bits.
It is this:
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/fr/fr/sm/WF06b/321957-321957-64295-3955552-3955552-4145545-4346826.html?lang=fr&jumpid=oc_R1002_FRFRC-001_Ordinateur%20portable%20HP%20ProBook4320s%20%2 0(Energy Star )&cc=fr

I tried several drivers in 1394 ...
I tried several software capture ...
I tried with several power between 10V, 12V and 15V ... 0.5A / 1A ...
I tried several versions of IC Capture ...
I tried several firewire cable and power with card by 1396 ...

Do you have a solution?
Another card is better?
I can try to plug in the DMK USB adapter with a firewire / usb?

Thank you for your help.
Best regards

Stefan Geissler
March 24, 2011, 12:23:34
Thank you for your email. Modern CPUs have extensive power saving options which are in use, if the
CPU load is low. If the CPU starts power saving, then the busses eSATA, FireWire and USB are slowed
down too. Unfortunately the camera keeps sending the image data blocks with full speed, thus it is
to be expected, that data blocks are missed and not saved in memory. You may try the "Processor Idle
State Manager" to avoid the Intel CPU's C3 states. It can be downloaded from

I think, this should solve your problems.

March 25, 2011, 23:23:52
Hi Stefan,
Thank you very much for your advice. My problem is solved!
You are really fast and very professional. is remarkable!
Here are my first images of the Sun (With DMK41 firewire that finally works with my Windows 7).

Thank you!

Stefan Geissler
March 28, 2011, 13:17:37

very impressive images!