PDA

View Full Version : IC Capture Frame Rate Versus Exposure Time



mickh
September 22, 2010, 19:48:54
In IC Capture, what happens if the user attempts to set frame rate faster than the reciprocal of exposure time? Example: suppose the exposure time is set for several seconds and the frame rate is set at 60 fps. What does IC Capture do? Does exposure time override frame rate? Vice versa? Or does IC Capture try to implement both commands independently at the same time, maybe entering an undefined or unstable state?

Any assistance with the question will be greatly appreciated.

Mick Hollimon
22 Sept 10
10:49 AM PDT USA

Stefan Geissler
September 23, 2010, 08:40:23
Hello Mick,

IC Capture does nothing. The camera will slow down the frame rate, change some internal stuff and exposes the images with the wanted exposure time. Then the image is send to the computer.

mickh
September 24, 2010, 03:27:37
Herr Geissler - thanks for the info; confirms what some have observed: exposure time overrides frame rate.

Mick Hollimon
23 Sept 10
6:28 PM PDT USA

JohnM
September 24, 2010, 16:31:17
Always. Simply dividing the number of frames taken by the time it took to get them shows the true frame rate.
I usually leave frame rate at 60FPS and capture 1000 frame AVIs.
My actual frame rate depends on what I have the exposure set to.