PDA

View Full Version : stripes

Abbe
April 2, 2010, 17:10:23
Hello,
I'm new to this. Could you tell me what causes these stripes when I use a DFK21 AU 04? It happens on any 'scope. codex, frame rate, shutter speed I use so I suspect it's to do with the Dell Inspiron 5100 I 'inherited' from my son. I usually use a Mac but sadly can't with this camera.

Have attached an example.

Thanks,
Abbe

Captmgik
April 3, 2010, 08:22:40
I have the same issue when I use the camera to capture the sun with my PST camera. I believe that this effect is caused by a light reflection in the camera...something called Newton's Rings (I think). What I have not heard is if there is a solution. I'll be interested in the responses you get from the Support folks.

Stefan Geissler
April 6, 2010, 14:00:39
Hi Abbe,

Please let me know the camera settings and the image processing you have done to achieve this image. I had tried to reproduce them, but with no success. For doing so, I used a controlled light environment, full gain, different exposure times and stacking of 200 frames. I got no diagonal lines.

JohnM
April 6, 2010, 15:25:34
Those aren't Newton's Rings. A friend got those diagonal lines, not as bad, after he got his DMK21.
It had to be returned for a defective chip.

Stefan Geissler
April 6, 2010, 15:46:13
I do not know, what causes these lines, but I need the camera settings in order to reproduce the problem, if possible.

@JohnM: Were the diagonal lines gone with an exchanged camera? What computer did your friend used?

JohnM
April 6, 2010, 16:42:57
Stefan,
It's been a while. I had loaned him mine to try and he decided to buy one.
I'll have to ask him exactly what the details were.

Stefan Geissler
April 6, 2010, 16:44:07
John,

Do not bother with it. I will wait for the camera properties and check on my own.

Abbe
April 6, 2010, 21:38:59
Hi Stephan,