PDA

View Full Version : Resolution vs FPS

jamsgra
August 25, 2009, 19:58:15
Hi All,

I am new to imaging with a CCD, (I have used an SLR
previously), but now I'm looking for some basic information about the
cost/ benefit between Resolution and FPS.

I notice that the higher resolution DMK cams have slower frame rates.

So, what are the benefits of each?

I think I have decided to buy a mono (non IR-cut cam) as I will add
filters later when I get used to using it for mono astro photography.

So that just leaves me with which FPS/ Resolution combo to plump for.
Any advice would be much welcomed.

I am planning to use the cam in the UK with generally average seeing
conditions, with my 120mm Sky-Watcher retractor.

Thanks,

James

Stefan Geissler
August 26, 2009, 09:24:38
Hello James,

The frame rate of a camera is limited by its CCD read out speed and the bandwidth available on the used bus, e.g. USB or FireWire.
Since I am not an astronomer, I can only give the obvious technical answer. The higher the resolution, the more details you will see on your image. But with higher resolution the amount of pixel data rises, so you can not transfer as much images as in low resolution.

Thus if you want to see a high resolution images with as much pixels per star as possible, you need a high resolution camera. A low resolution camera as 640x480 pixel, may not show all stars you want to see. With a low resolution camera, you will receive much more image per second, so AVI stacking will give good results, the telescope must not be guided to far for many images.

I hope this explanation is not as bad :-)

nardes
September 3, 2009, 01:40:53