PDA

View Full Version : DBK 21AF04, XP SP3, HUB adaptor



lasal
August 22, 2009, 18:08:53
Hello, iīm trying to use my new camera in a laptop that uses 4pin 1394 port + firewire hub, but i canīt use that even at low fps.

In other computer (macbook pro, firewire port 6 pin) running sp3 too, i only use the camera at 15 fps max. but only connected directly to the computer without the hub.
Using the hub nothing happen.

The firewire cables are, 1 unibrain 10mt, and 1 short cable.

The hub:
http://www.lindy.co.uk/6-port-firewire-repeater-hub/32916.html

The cuestion is: Is there any way to use the camera in sp3 at 60 fps? or have i to return to sp2?.

Any reply will be very appreciated,

Thanks a lot

Stefan Geissler
August 24, 2009, 14:53:46
I assume, you start IC Capture, open the camera and you do not receive any images. In this case, I
suggest two tests:
1.) Try a shorter FireWire cable, max. 4,5m which is the maximum supported lenght by IEEE1394 norm
If this works then them problem may be is your 10m cable
2.) Try lower frame rates.
If lower frame rates give images, then the cable is the problem.

lasal
September 9, 2009, 16:10:19
I assume, you start IC Capture, open the camera and you do not receive any images. In this case, I
suggest two tests:
1.) Try a shorter FireWire cable, max. 4,5m which is the maximum supported lenght by IEEE1394 norm
If this works then them problem may be is your 10m cable
2.) Try lower frame rates.
If lower frame rates give images, then the cable is the problem.
Thanks a lot for the response and sorry for the delay.
Finally iīve used a powered pci express card and runs perfect at 60fps.

Thanks again