PDA

View Full Version : RegiStax4 fail to read avi frame



awyong
January 27, 2008, 19:02:29
Hi!

See any one can help me or not! I have the DMK 31AF03 and use IC capture software to capture my Astronomy images. But I am not sure why RegiStax 4 show the message "fail to read avi frame". It happens to all my avi file which contain frames larger than 1360 frames.

Everytime when RegiStax 4 read until frame 1360, the message "fail to read avi frame" will pop up, then the software does not work anymore..

Why?


Aw Yong.

Stefan Geissler
January 28, 2008, 09:49:19
Hi Aw,

It seems, that the old "Video for Windows" is not able to read such big files you have created with IC Capture. I suggest to split the AVI file. I think, there are matching programs available in the internet for doing this. (e.g. "VirtualDub").

I suggest to capture only 1300 frames next time and then create a new file. You can specify the number of frames to be captured in IC Capture.

Flying_Fox
February 1, 2008, 17:06:09
More or less easy workaround is to export BMP image sequence from AVI using Virtual Dub software.
Then load BMPs into Registax instead of AVI. Registax doesn't have this problem even with 6000 BMP frames. While you have BMPs, you can also run them through PPMCentre (see links in this article: http://www.iceinspace.com.au/index.php?id=63,306,0,0,1,0 under Processing the Data chapter) that would crop, center and rank the images for you, making the better input image set for Registax.

Stefan Geissler
February 19, 2008, 10:58:09
Hi,

Registax will fail to load an AVI file, if "unspecified" is selected in the AVI settings dialog. Please use "uncompressed Y800" as shown in the image.

http://www.theimagingsourceforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=512&stc=1&d=1203415072