PDA

View Full Version : Delphi app crashes when switching to BY8

plahaise
January 17, 2008, 18:08:56
Hi all,
I'm new here & i've never programmed cameras before.

I just got a DFK 41AF02 FireWire camera. I'm running Windows XP, Delphi 7, DirectX 9c, 3.2Ghz computer with built-in FireWire, 2GB memory.

I've created a new app with a blank form & simply dropped a TICImagingControl onto it & didn't change a single property. I also added a button to access the "Device Settings" dialog:

procedure TForm1.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);
var err:string;
begin
ICImagingControl1.LiveStop;

err:='';
try
ICImagingControl1.ShowDeviceSettingsDialog;
except
on E: Exception do // <-- set breakpoint here
err:=E.Message;
end;

ICImagingControl1.LiveStart;
end;

My problem is that when run the app from within the IDE, click the button, see the Device Settings dialog, pick my camera under Device Name & select the Video Format of BY8, then click "OK", the app immediately crashes back to the IDE. My try-except NEVER traps it. The breakpoint is never hit. There are no messages. The app simply shuts down as if I clicked the "x" directly.

However, when i run the EXE directly (outside of Delphi) & do all the above, i DO get a video feed & nothing crashes.

Curiously, the same thing happens within the IDE when NOT running the app: I'd I right-click on the TICImagingControl object & select "Properties", then make all the same selections, then goto the "VCD Properties" dialog. Only THEN does the video feed show, but all appears to be ok.

BTW, when running the app inside the IDE, I DO see a feed if i let the default Video Format be UYVY, but the highest fps is only 7, which is too low for my application - but it doesn't crash.

Does anybody have an idea what's going on? Could it be a global Delphi setting? Perhaps it's using too much memory going over to BY8?