PDA

View Full Version : Live feed using CCD camera

Datman
July 10, 2006, 21:43:50
Hi guys

I am new to the whole vision thing. Just have a couple of quick questions about IC imaging control. I like the look of the software, looks like a good solution for us. I have been having a play with the trial version before we commit ourselves to it. My only question is about resolutions etc. We are using a sony ccd camera, which will eventually be teamed up with an imagenation framegrabber. What I want to do is fairly simple, just a live video feed and overlay refernece lines on this feed. We need the video image to be as large as possible, ie if we use a 17inch monitor we want to have as large a picture on the screen as possible. I gather this means we will need a higher resolution correct? Can IC imaging control support higher formats than 768 x 576.

sorry if this is a ridiculous questions, am very new to cameras and the like!

cheers

Stefan Geissler
July 11, 2006, 08:08:05
Hi,

All video formats provided by your video capture device are possible. Also solutios like 1280*960 (DFK 41AF02) or 2000*2000 (TELI CBS 4000).

Even smaller solutions are possible like 80*20 etc.

If you want to display a fullscreen image regardless of the video format, you may code following:

Private Sub Form_Load()
ICImagingControl1.ShowDeviceSettingsDialog

' Check whether a valid video capture device has been selected.
If ICImagingControl1.DeviceValid Then
ICImagingControl1.LiveDisplayDefault = False
ICImagingControl1.LiveStart
Else
' No device has been selected. display a message
' and terminate the application.
MsgBox "No video capture device selected." + Chr(13) + _
"Please select a video capture device in the Properties window first!"
Unload Me
End If
End Sub

Private Sub Form_Resize()
' Resize the ImagingControl window
ICImagingControl1.Width = ScaleWidth
ICImagingControl1.Height = ScaleHeight
'Resize the displaywindow in the ImagingControl window