PDA

View Full Version : DMK21BF04 question

awesley
June 3, 2005, 04:36:01
There doesn't seem to be a "camera" forum, so I chose this one as maybe a good alternative. I hope a moderator will be able to help me out!

I am considering purchase of a DMK-21BF04, but I have a couple of questions before I proceed. Because I live in Australia this would mean an international order, so I don't want to receive the camera and then find that it's not right for my use. It can sometimes take >30 days to get equipment through customs in this country so the 30 day return policy might be tricky.

I've been corresponding with Shane Jennings about this camera for about 6 months, but I think he must be away for long periods because I rarely get a reply, and then my questions are not answered. This is probably my last try at getting this information before I give up and go look at cameras from other manufacturers.

I will be using this camera for planetary astronomy. You can see examples of the images I'm getting with my current fire-i camera on my website:

www.acquerra.com.au/personal/bird/astronomy

I will be using this camea as a replacement for my fire-i. The fire-i has a number of problems that I want to overcome by replacing it with a more sensitive camera with better s/n. The DMK-21BF04 seems to be a good choice, but I need to find out the answers to a couple of questions: