PDA

View Full Version : extracting RGB value of pixel

abhibhav
February 26, 2004, 20:18:52
Respected Sir,

I am a final year under graduate student new to the field of image processing. We are making a project that basically deals with following a particular path by recognising color.

I am using a Logitech web camera to input images in real time & process them to find out the color they contain. A software called Template for Real Time Image PrOcessing Development (TRIPOD), developed by Prof. Paul Y. Oh, helps us to input the images in real time.

I have a problem with extracting the RGB values of a pixel in real time. Infact I am clueless on the topic. I tried going through some of the same problem in the threads available on this site but could not understand much.

Hence I would be very garteful if you could help me out of this soup by providing me with some algorithm on which I can work. I am familiar with the C language and also have a good knowledge of the C++ knowledge also.

Thanking You,
Abhibhav.

Stefan Geissler
February 27, 2004, 12:05:57
Hello Abhibhav ,

I do not know Real Time Image Processing Development (TRIPOD), developed by Prof. Paul Y. Oh, therefore i do not know, how the image data is presented to your program.
May be you can find some help about this here:
http://groups.google.de/groups?hl=de&lr=&ie=UTF-8&group=sci.image.processing

abhibhav
February 29, 2004, 02:48:12
Respected Sir,

The software TRIPOD uses a Visual C++ environment and has been designed basically for users who do not have much knowledge about the MFC and API. All that the software does is to grab a frame and establish a pointer to it. You can then enter the code of your program for pixel processing which can also be in ANSI C.

TRIPOD haS been created only to run with the Logitech webcam and is uses the SDK provided with the same.

Also as our guide suggests that all devices operate on images using the RGB format.