PDA

View Full Version : Image Processing

Jonathan Jackso
March 5, 2003, 23:20:33
I am a student researcher in the field of computer vision. We are using a stereo vision system to create an augmented reality as one of our projects. My end is the computer vision side. I was going through the sdk, and i was wondering where the best place to do the actual processing was. The processing is fairly fast (just accessing a look-up table for the first part, then doing connected component labeling and a couple of other operations, all in all it is about a 4-5 pass algorithm). The goal is to have several tracked points displayed onscreen, have stereo calculated, and then send the point coordinates over the network to the computer that"s handling the rendering of the VR. Obviously I'm not asking for any help on the computer vision aspect. I'm just really new to the sdk and I have some deadlines to meet. I've messed around with the frameReady() callback function, created a pointer to the data, and as a test inverted all the colors. I did this on top of your sample code for a callback function:

void CListener::frameReady( Grabber& param, smart_ptr<MemBuffer> pBuffer,
DWORD currFrame){
pBuffer->lock();
//printf("Buffer %2d processed in CListener::frameReady().\n",currFrame);
BYTE * data=pBuffer->getPtr();
for(int i=0; i<int(pBuffer->getBufferSize()); i++){
data[i]=255-data[i];
}
saveImage( pBuffer, currFrame ); // Do the buffer processing.
//Sleep(1250); // Simulate a time expensive processing.
pBuffer->unlock();
}

It works for the 1st and tenth frames, but I need to process all frames that i can. I was also wondering if i should just use the the snapImages() function to just get one buffer, process it, then do another.

Thank you so much for your time.
-Jonathan Jackson

Jonathan Jackso
March 6, 2003, 08:17:22